My frustrations with online boutiques

I am very tempted to name. But I will not. I think I have harassed them to a point where I just gave up and paid extra postage fees to avoid anymore correspondence. Its not a bad case of bad customer service, its just a case of lack of communication. I guess that really frustrates me because everything could have been avoided had I been told and well informed of the situation.

I know I don’t make much sense at the moment. Let me summarise:

Before I went home for Christmas last year, I bought some items online and paid for local Singaporea postage because I thought the items would have arrived in time for me to bring them back to Perth. I mean local delivery times isn’t long at all right? So I got my parcel, with only 2 items (I bought 5) and so of course I sent off an email asking after my other 3 items, but they don’t quite respond because it was sent with the email that I bought the items with and it was work email. There was no response over 1 week plus, I guess yes festivities. It got down to a point where I was leaving for Perth that I still didn’t get a reply. So I came back to Perth, sent off a couple more enquiries about it. Finally, I had a response saying that the parcel was sent back unclaimed. And that if I wanted those items, I have to re-pay for postage or I could cancel my order (but wait for it, there’s a 15% charge for packing fees.)

I admit I’m griping a little, in the end I gave up arguing and just paid the extra postage to re send it. But surely, back of my mind, I’m thinking online boutiques are just as much liable to their customers as normal retail boutiques are. Its not just a matter of waiting for order, packing them and sending them out. Maybe its just unfortunate that I faced this situation. Oh wells.

This is why, shopping should be done traditionally, in the shops with the option to try them on and feel the material and see how it looks on you before the purchase is done. Conveniences in the end may just end up creating more hassles in the end.

*breathes*

Leave a comment